Monday, June 22, 2009

Secret, Profane and Sugarcane

Just a reminder: If you're in the San Francisco or Hollywood, CA area, you might want to check out Elvis Costello at Amoeba today. He'll be performing songs from his latest CD, Secret, Profane and Sugarcane.

The album, which was produced by the legendary T. Bone Burnett, has Elvis getting in touch with his inner cowboy as he croons thirteen country-infused tunes. Even with the laconic drawling western sound, Elvis' signature sharp wit is still in evidence as witnessed by the lyrics of the CD's opening song, "Down Among the Wines and Spirits":

"Down among the wines and spirits
Where a man gets where he merits...
Once it was written in letter 'bout nine feet tall
Now he sees how far he's fallen

Since he set his mind on her completely
But then I guess that you couldn't have seen him lately
Walking around with a pain that just never ceases
He starts to speak and then he goes to pieces..."
Not only did Burnett produce the album, but he also played guitar on several songs and co-wrote "Sulphur to Sugarcane" and "The Crooked Line" with Costello. Elvis also collaborated with Loretta Lynn on "I Felt the Chill Before the Winter Came" and Emmylou Harris provides harmony vocals on "The Crooked Line" adding to the country-western cred.

Two non-Costello compositions appear on the album notably Lou Reed's "Femme Fatale" and the album's closing number, "Changing Partners" by Lawrence Coleman and Joseph Darion.
Track List:
  1. Down Among the Wine and Spirits
  2. Complicated Shadows
  3. I Felt the Chill
  4. My All Time Doll
  5. Hidden Shame
  6. She Handed Me a Mirror
  7. I Dreamed of My Old Lover
  8. How Deep is the Red
  9. She Was No Good
  10. Sulfur to Sugarcane
  11. Red Cotton
  12. The Crooked Line
  13. Changing Partners
Secret, Profane and Sugarcane showcases Costello's journey from ascerbic witty punk-pop star to reflective rock elder statesman musing about how "Life isn't a game...won or tied..lost by either side..." Kick back, pour yourself a cold brew and enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment