Monday, June 30, 2008

Memos to Morons - part three

TO: Oblivious Cell Phone Guy

RE: California State Law

Attention those of you who can't go two minutes without your Nokia glued to your ear--you have less than 24 hours to indulge your addiction to 24/7 connectivity even while driving. Starting July 1st, California will require hands-free devices be used while driving. As a pedestrian, I applaud the fact that I may be able to cross the street without dealing with some hyper-caffeinated, self-important player attempting to make a right hand turn with one hand holding his cell phone, one hand on the wheel and no attention to what's happening right in front of him.

As a driver I am optimistic that I won't be stranded behind some addled gossip girl gabbing on her cell phone completely clueless to the fact that the light has turned GREEN. Of course, according to studies, the hands-free requirement isn't the solution to improving driver safety since the very act of listening and talking while driving eliminates much needed attention to the road. The law also won't help with the idiots who apply mascara, munch meals or change their clothes all while operating a piece of heavy machinery.

According to the L.A. Times, San Diego and Oceanside police departments are allowing a 30 day grace period. But the CHP is stepping up enforcement for the holiday weekend--so all you Chatty McChatsters out there: Beware!

No comments:

Post a Comment